Skip directly to content

Gov. Manchin announces WVU's 2009 class of Foundation Scholars

on Thu, 05/07/2009 - 08:00

They want to develop sustainability strategies to repair the planet, teach the future of the world, develop regenerating or prosthetic organs and most of all - be Mountaineers. They are West Virginia University's 2009 class of Foundation Scholars.


Five of the state's top high school students were introduced on Thursday (May 7) as the recipients of the University's most esteemed academic honor - the Foundation Scholarship. Gov. Joe Manchin, Interim WVU President C. Peter Magrath and WVU Foundation President R. Wayne King formally honored the scholars during a ceremony at the state Capitol Complex in Charleston.

The award, which provides full tuition to the University for four years and is valued at approximately $68,000 when paired with the state's PROMISE Scholarship, recognizes student's leadership and academic potential.

In addition to tuition and fees, the scholarship will cover the students' room and board, personal expenses and books for all four years. The award also includes a $3,500 stipend for academic enhancement, which is commonly used for study abroad, internships and other advanced learning opportunities.

WVU's 2009 Foundation Scholars are: Rebecca Posa of Kearneysville, Jefferson County; Sara Swanson of Mount Clare, Harrison County; Lucas Pennock of Mineral Wells, Wood County; Amanda Thorp of Weirton, Hancock County; and Robert Guy of Wheeling, Ohio County.

Manchin recognized the students' potential and praised them for their success.

"I commend the hard work, academic excellence and commitment to their futures that these five students have shown. The West Virginia University Foundation Scholarship is very prestigious, and I know these young people will take full advantage of this opportunity they have been granted by furthering their education and pursuing career goals. I look forward to many more accomplishments by these bright and talented West Virginians," Manchin said.

Magrath also offered his congratulations to the students and welcomed them to WVU.

"These students demonstrate incredible academic ability, proven leadership skills and an intense dedication to help the community through service. I feel privileged and honored to welcome them to West Virginia University, and have full confidence that they will continue to better themselves and the state though academic study, leadership and service," Magrath said.

The Foundation Scholarship is the most prestigious award offered by WVU's undergraduate scholarship program, which annually benefits more than 5,500 in excess of $10 million. Since the program was established in 1987, 115 of the state's brightest high school students have been awarded the University's most selective scholarship.

"On behalf of my colleagues at the WVU Foundation, I congratulate these outstanding students for their many accomplishments. Providing scholarship opportunities for students through private support is very important. We strongly believe that our donors' investment in students, especially those we honor today, will produce great benefits for our state and nation in the future," said King.

The WVU Foundation Scholars are chosen from the pool of 20 students awarded the Neil S. Bucklew Scholarship, valued at more than $24,000 for four years. After receiving the Bucklew scholarship, the students are invited to campus for a day of rigorous interviews. Of the 20, five are chosen.

The students must be from West Virginia, posses a minimum 3.8 GPA and achieve a composite score of 30 on the ACT or 1,340 on the SAT college entrance exams.

Read more about each of the Foundation scholars at: