Skip directly to content

Irvin Stewart Society

Named for WVU's 13th President, the Irvin Stewart Society honors those individuals whose future gifts will support the University.  Founded in 1992, the Stewart Society has over 830 living members.  

To say thank you to those making a special gift to benefit WVU, Potomac State College, WVU Institute of Technology, Mountaineer Athletic Club or West Virginia 4-H, membership is open in the Stewart Society. A current list of members is available.

Those eligible include individuals providing support through:

  • A gift provision (a bequest) in a will or revocable (living) trust to the West Virginia University Foundation (Contingent bequests do not qualify for membership.)
  • An income-producing gift – a unitrust, an annuity trust, a charitable lead trust, or a gift annuity – whether it is created through the WVU Foundation or with another organization
  • A gift of retirement assets through your estate
  • A gift of life insurance
  • A real estate gift with a retained lifetime interest

If you have made such a gift or are contemplating one, we invite you to join the other proud Mountaineers carrying on Dr. Irvin Stewart's mission of increasing private support for WVU and its affiliated organizations.  Dr. Stewart's service in the post-World War II-era helped the University grow dramatically.  He also laid the groundwork for the establishment of the WVU Foundation. 

As a Stewart Society member, your name is placed in a leather-bound membership registry kept in Stewart Hall.  It will appear in a Foundation newsletter and in the semi-annual newsletter TIPS.  If you would like to be an anonymous member, you may do so.  Also, you are invited to the Foundation's annual members' luncheon.

More information on these gifts

Confidentiality:  Details of estate plans and/or gifts made by donors to the Foundation are not disclosed.  They are held in strict confidence.  All requests for anonymity are honored.

These Irvin Stewart Society members attended the annual brunch for the first time in 2017 and were honored for their support.